License to Carry a Handgun


License to Carry a Handgun $100  

Guardian Training Agency
ClayDesta Center
6 Desta Drive, Ste. 2570(map)
Midland, TX 79705


You may attend our class OR you may do the 4 hour classroom portion online here, then schedule the 1 – 2 hour shooting portion with us.


Our Class Dates:  

  • Saturday February 23rd, 2019   (CLASS FULL)

  • Saturday March 23rd, 2019      (CLASS FULL)

  • Saturday April 27th, 2019          (CLASS FULL)

  • Saturday May 18th, 2019            (2 spots left)


About the class:

$40 non-refundable and non-transferable deposit is required to register for the class. Our classes are limited to only 10 students. 

Class hours are 8:00 am – 4:45 pm

In the classroom, we discuss Texas law, legal issues, current events and personal safety.  At the shooting range, we provide a quick overview of the shooting fundamentals and warm up shots before shooting the required 50 round course of fire.


Notice: This class is not intended to teach someone how to shoot; it is a certification class required to receive a License to Carry a Handgun from the Texas Department of Public Safety. If you would like some instruction on how to properly and safely shoot a handgun to qualify for a License to Carry, please let us know below.


Training Locations

The classroom portion takes place at our conference room at the ClayDesta Center



Items needed for the classroom portion:

  • Payment for the class. Cash, check and major credit cards accepted. (there is an additional $3 processing fee for cards)
  • State issued driver’s license or identification card
  • Black Pen
  • A notepad if you would like to take notes
  • Bring your favorite snacks and drinks

The shooting portion takes place at our private outdoor range, which is located a short distance in east Midland County.


Items needed for the shooting portion:

  • A quality handgun (must be unloaded)
  • At least (2) magazines (must be unloaded)
  • A holster is highly recommended
  • Sturdy belt to support the holster recommended
  • 60 rounds of ammunition (10 to warm up and 50 for the course of fire)
  • Eye protection (prescription eyeglasses will suffice)
  • Hearing protection (electronic recommended)
  • A ball cap is recommended
  • See our page on what to wear to the range
  • Water to drink

    To register for our License to Carry a Handgun class, please complete this contact form. We will email further details. Please check your email.

    We will email you reply with instructions on how to pay the $40 non-refundable and non-transferable deposit to complete the registration.



    About the Instructor

    Paul Urias, paul@guardiantrainingagency.com

    Paul is a law enforcement officer with 25 years’ experience. He is a former SWAT Team member and is a certified Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor, Texas License to Carry Handgun Instructor, NRA Instructor and Range Safety Officer. Paul`s teaching techniques are based on his various training and law enforcement experience. Paul co-founded Guardian Training Agency with the belief that training should be fun, relevant and realistic. Paul is knowledgeable in self-defense, mindset techniques and is a Glock handgun and AR-15 rifle armorer. Paul serves on the Safety Committee at Midland Shooters Association and also continues his training with various disciplines and instructors.

    *Guardian Training Agency reserves the right to refuse our services to anyone if we have reason to believe there is a safety concern.